Going Big

4 Feb

I hope everyone has someone in their life that has some crazy grace to speak directly to the raw places in your heart that you can hardly nail down yourself.  I discovered the person God strategically placed in my life earlier this year.  Within little time actually being around me, she speaks truth and hits the places in my heart that I knew were there but didn’t know how to even communicate.

So of course one of the things she has told me has been stirring in my heart.  She charged me to, “go big and live like you’re not leaving.”

It seems simple but has made me realize just how valuable of advice that is for now and for seasons to come.  What happens when you’re in a constant state of transition (one year long program, summer jobs, eight months overseas, ect) is you kind of brace yourself for goodbyes.  The tendency is to back off relationally after realizing another goodbye is on it’s way.  I did this with the end of Elevate, with my whole summer job in DC, with the end of college… trying to lighten the hit of saying another goodbye and facing another transition.

I’ve come to ask myself though, which is worse –  hard goodbyes or regret for not living in the days given?  I think I would much rather face the hard goodbye because I loved fully and gave my whole self to what was in front of me than give up days in a sacred space God has given me.

Leave a Reply

